About this name thing on the rocks at the new place.

Home of Welsford's Cochrane Lane Cliffs.

Moderators: PeterA, chossmonkey, Stacey, Dom, granite_grrl, Greg, Joe

About this name thing on the rocks at the new place.

Postby Ian_the_Barbarian » Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:35 pm

Not saying anybody's wrong or I'm right...just wondering about this ethics thing. Also, is there someplace I can read up on rock climbing ethics, or is it a personal thing?

Next question: Exactly how does painting a little name near the bottom of a route in a place that can't be used as a hold "ruin" the rock. Its just a 1" high name-tag in acrylic paint anyways. Anybody *that* offended could just take a wire brush to the name and there'd be nothing left.

I thought putting names on the routes was a good idea to be honest. Being a relative noob, I have a hard time spotting good lines. If I'm out there without a crew of experios (word I just made up meaning opposite of noob) then it helps to have the routes identified since I doubt there'll be a guidebook made up for this place anytime soon.
le barbarien
Ian_the_Barbarian

Postby Fred » Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:44 pm

Ian,

no one would ever have expected YOU and others present in this situation to know if writing route names on rock is ethical or not. I for one do not hold any of the "newbs" responsible in this case. And it's not a big deal since it IS a dump but it's a matter of principle. The area does suck but that doesn't mean we can trash it. Like the Woodlot. In this scenario I would have expected the experienced climbers in your crew to set a different example.

As for the wire brushing... don't worry... I'll scrubb them off next time. Luckily it's not serious paint and solid rock.

Peace.
I want to go to hell... there's probably lots of rock to climb there.
Fred
Site Admin

Postby Ian_the_Barbarian » Mon Nov 14, 2005 9:55 pm