Trad climbing course

It’s sharp....really sharp!

Moderators: chossmonkey, Dom, granite_grrl, peter, Climb Nova Scotia, Matt Peck

Trad climbing course

Postby Nate » Wed Jan 25, 2006 10:25 pm

Hey
Just wondering if there was any interest to do a trad course in the spring. I talked to Nick about it and I know a couple of people that are interested, but the more people the less the cost or the more days we could run it, so who's in?? I'd just like a course that can show me how to set solid placements and solid anchors and maybe some multi-pitch.
Nate
Nate

Postby jnnfr » Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:02 pm

Hey Nate,
Collin is definately interested! And I would be too, if there is room for a TOTAL beginner!
-jennifer
jnnfr

Postby Zamboni » Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:11 pm

I'd have to know what material will be covered, b4 I'd fork out cash to learn something I already knew.

Conan.
Zamboni

Postby The Mitt » Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:30 pm

Who would offer it? Are they qualified? What qualification do they have? Are they insured? What is the cost? Is there an outline for the course? What is it?

Probably all good questions to have answered before forking over cash. I would suggest that if you can't get a really good answer for each one its really not worth doing.

Mitt
The Mitt

Postby martha » Thu Jan 26, 2006 5:39 pm

I still say that getting out and seconding/ apprenticing for someone with experience for a year is the best way to go. you get the mileage and learn things in the right environment and y ou always have someone there with the knowledge/experience to guide you on leads or walk you through anchors etc.

Nate... we've told you before... come to Freddy, stay with us. we'll take you out. :)

we need an extra belayer/pack horse now that either me or fred will have the baby to carry. :lol:

hehe
The phrase "working mother" is redundant. ~Jane Sellman

If a husband speaks in the woods, and his wife is not there to hear him...is he still wrong?
martha