Climbing partner

It’s sharp....really sharp!

Moderators: chossmonkey, Dom, granite_grrl, peter, Climb Nova Scotia, Matt Peck

Climbing partner

Postby darren » Sun Apr 24, 2005 8:48 am

Hi I'm a relative novice climber with some experience in top rope and a little bit of anchor building. I'm looking for a climbing partner (male or female, doesn't matter to me) of comparable experience to climb with (indoor or outdoor) this summer.
darren

hey

Postby climberwannabe » Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:47 am

Hi man, I am of about the same experience... where do you live? What gear do you have?

Steve
Mother nature: 1, climberwannabe: 0
climberwannabe

Postby kate » Sun Apr 24, 2005 12:02 pm

hello darren,

a great way to meet climbing partners is at the gym. wouldn't you prefer to learn in a controlled environment that your potential new climbing partner is someone who doesn't pay attention to safety and simply enjoys spraying about their latest send? there is a friendly group of regulars who climb at Ground Zero Climbing Gym in the evenings during the week. in May, the NSBL continues on the first Mondya of the month, and in June, the Monday Night Bouldering Series takes over the Monday night slot for the summer months. check out our website for more details. good luck with your search for a partner, and happy climbing!

kate
kate

Postby darren » Sun Apr 24, 2005 12:27 pm

yes I ran into two partners whose belay habits made me somewhat leery.. and one also would build anchors with only a single locking 'biner instead of two non-locking reversed and opposed 'biners.. so yes someone who wants to start indoors first is preferred.
darren

Postby The Mitt » Sun Apr 24, 2005 2:27 pm

Darren,
Using one locking biner for a top rope anchor is not necessarily a bad thing. Its what you and your climbing partner are secure with. Depending on the situation I will use either or. Having 2 non-locking opposed and opposite do not have a significant benefit over one locked biner.