Buying a rope??

Lost gear? Selling? Donating? Questions?

Moderators: chossmonkey, Dom, granite_grrl

Buying a rope??

Postby Mike D » Mon Apr 09, 2007 4:32 pm

OK, it's been the late 80's since I spent any amount of time climbing - God I'm getting old!! I got bit by the climbing bug last year and I was introduced to ice climbing this year - got the sickness bad!
Anyways, enough of that - I need a rope. A dry rope as I'd like to use for both rock and ice. As I'm a newbie, I'll be mostly top roping.

Anyone got an option? ... as to what is the best rope for my needs and useage.

Thanks in advance for the help with this purchase decision. Mike :?
Mike D

Postby Fred » Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:58 pm

This won't really answer your question but it might be a good piece of information if you are considering buying a rope for ice and rock.

In my experience the dry ropes don't hold up their dry 'coating' if they have been used on rock. It is best to use dry ropes for ice climbing solely on ice. Furthermore, a rope that has been used on rock and then goes out for ice climbing seems to stiffen up much quicker (fuzzy and loses ductility).

My recommendation would be to get two ropes, one dry and one non-dry to be used on ice and rock respectively. A big investment to start but the ropes together will out-do the life of one overtime.

As far as recommending ropes to buy... If you TR alot I would definitely stick to the 10 or 10.5 ropes. Smaller ropes will give you bigger stretch which is less comfortable for toproping.
I want to go to hell... there's probably lots of rock to climb there.
Fred
Site Admin

Postby szymiec » Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:09 pm

Take a look at these goodies:
http://www.mec.ca/Products/product_deta ... 6159818220

You will need to buy 2 of them as they are half ropes but then you
will have all of the advantages of having 2 ropes.

or if you dont like the idea of having to clip each rope into alternate pieces of gear try these: