When you don't feel comfortale climbing with someone.....

For all the motormouths who just need to spray.

Moderators: chossmonkey, Dom, granite_grrl

When you don't feel comfortale climbing with someone.....

Postby granite_grrl » Fri Apr 15, 2005 2:47 pm

I have these great feelings of guilt of not inviting this one particular woman out climbing from my area. She climbs with the rest of the group that I climb with, but I regularly leave her off emails that I send out when I invite the people from this group to go climbing.

I just don't feel comfortable climbing with her, I don't feel that she's safe, and I don't like her attitude towards climbing. If she's on this beautiful 5.7 she doesn't enjoy it because its not hard enough. She has scoffed at me when she found out that I have been climbing for over 4 years but we climb near the same grade at the gym and at the local crags. She is quite good, I'll admit that, but rushes in over her head too often, and has even got cranky at me once when I told her to watch out for a pendulum fall that could bruise her up pretty bad....said that she didn't like some one scaring her.

Seems that every one has slightly scary story about her, whether it was the time she went up a sport climb with no idea what to do at the anchors, or her hoping on a high ball bouldering problem and freaking out 2/3s of the way up. Yet they still climb with her. I really enjoy this group, its just her that I feel uncomfortable with.

So I feel guilty when I don't invite her and inevitably someone else does (such as this weekend, she asked not to be left off the mailing list again, *gulp*), I feel angry that she doesn't want to learn and ignores what I try to tell her, and I'm a little dissapointed that I might not get to climb with my friends because I don't want to climb with her.